Skip to Content

pci compliance

PCI/DSS Compliance

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard is list of protective measures enforced within companies which process credit card payments. If your site handles such payments, your bank and payment provider will soon require PCI/DSS certification to continue accepting payments.

PCI/DSS in Detail

The current PCI/DSS (v1.2) consists of 12 overarching compliance requirements, each of which have multiple sub-sections and specific technical details, totaling up to a 228-point checklist.

Build and Maintain a Secure Network
  • Install and maintain a firewall configuration to protect data.
  • Do not use vendor-supplied defaults for system passwords and other security parameters.
Protect Cardholder Data
  • Protect stored cardholder data.
  • Encrypt transmission of cardholder data across open, public networks.
Implement Strong Access Control Measures
  • Restrict access to cardholder data by business need-to-know.
  • Assign a unique ID to each person with computer access.
  • Restrict physical access to cardholder data.
Regularly Monitor and Test Networks
  • Track and monitor all access to network resources and cardholder data.
  • Regularly test security systems and processes.
Maintain an Information Security Policy
  • Maintain a policy that addresses information security for employees and contractors.
Visit the PCI's self-assessment questionnaire page to read the requirements in detail.

The Good News
9 of the 12 PCI/DSS requirements come standard with any hosting plan. Compliance requirements 2-9 and 12 arrive "out of the box" when you host your site with us.